1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Cool Career tips for a first year CS student, future developer

Hi guys. I am in my first year of studying CS at university. I just have a few questions, mainly related to career development, web development, and Python. I started programming about 6 months before I decided I started classes at university. In that time I honestly didn't learn much. I learned HTLM and CSS, and I got a little introduction to Python and some Javascript. My classes now are all going to either be in Java or C++. I want to keep learning Python on top of this, so I can start getting in to rapid web development. I was thinking about learning Ruby on Rails but since I had Python experience I decided I would go with Python/Django.

Here is my situation:
    I am currently in a remote location in the midwest for school. It is NOT the place to be for technology, even though it has a reputable program (there are still better ones I could transfer to). Because of this, and a few other problems I have with my school, I am looking to move to California and submerge myself in the development community. This will not be done until the summer. I have some family there and I am going out there to network this winter (either LA area or most likely San. Fran). By the time the summer comes around, I will have over a year of experience programming in Python. Granted, that whole time I wasn't focusing specifically on Python, but also things in classes like (database management /Java and C++/Excel+Access/etc).

Here is my question/goal: