1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need advise to be programmer

Hello programmers!

I'm a physics student actually but recently I've been interested in programming. It seems C and Python really interest me. (I had most knowledge in scientific computing, eg monte carlo). I was wondering if it is possible for me to use my programming skill for work. If you all would know, physics student doesnt' really have a job (well some became an engineer, some as general staff, some as programmer). Well, I have about 6 more months to graduate. Would like to brush up my programming skill enough for some job, or at least part time/late night job.

What you guys think about my situation? What part of programming I should learn? I am more interested in database than webdev. Any other fields that you guys can suggest?
  3. No Profile Picture

Not quite sure about the world of Physics but as a general rule I would say as long as you have the skill and you are able to prove that you can pull it off well, then you are very much qualified to do the job.

Why don't you try getting some part time jobs regarding programming right now? It would certainly help you hone your skills.
  5. Contributing User

I would say pursue OpenSource PostgreSQL 9.2, because it is alot like Oracle Standard edition database.

As for other skills and languages, you might expand your Python knowledge from 2.0 to 3.0. I would also look at Perl, and consider Korn and Bash shell scripting knowledge as well too.

As to OS I would pursue Linux (Suse, Red Hat, Oracle Linux), learn the command line more that the gui. Also start learning about Virtualization (VMware 5.1, KVM, OVM) to name a few...the more you learn and understand the better off you will be in the MIS/IT job world.
  7. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA