1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Version Control Hosting

Hi,

Ok so i am new to version control systems and im trying to get my head around bitbucket and git. So from my understanding bitbucket is a hosting service that hosts GIT/Mercurial version control systems. If i want to use a version control system when i build my next website, then can i set it up in either of these two ways?

(a) install and configure GIT on my own remote server and setup my IDE to connect to that repository - so effectively bitbucket is not in the loop at all;
    (b) install and configure GIT on my own remote server, setup the repository on both bitbucket and my own remote server, push my changes to the bitbucket account and then have a webhook run on a certain command that pushes all outstanding changes to my own remote server when needed?

Is that how a deployment typically runs in the wild? Why use bitbucket at all if you can take it out of the loop? I'm guessing its used as a visual interface to show the list of changes etc?

Thanks
  3. Forgotten Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Git and Mercurial are decentralized: you can put as many copies wherever you want so long as you don't have any problems keeping them all in sync; one local copy (for yourself) and one remote copy (the authoritative version) is generally best. You actually don't have to keep them in sync, but not doing so will probably backfire on you in the future.

So yes, you could do (a) and disregard Bitbucket. But the point of services like that is to give you much more than Git alone has: an interface, support for users, authorization rules, repository forks, backups in case of failure, automated hooks...
    (b) is also fine, and how "continuous integration" (automated testing and deployment) typically works.