Results: Do you think the forums should be consolidated? 

Voters
3 You may not vote on this poll

• Yes
    100.00%
  • No
    0%
  • Undecided
    0%
  1. No Profile Picture
    Aged to perfection.
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Lightbulb Revive The Dying Forum

Hello everyone. I stopped by here on a whim to see what was going on. I'm very disappointed at the lack of activity in this forum. This used to be the best place to get a quick and accurate answer to almost any programming issue. I see there are still loyal people like Doug.G whom have dedicated so many years to helping people and continue to do so today. I have the deepest respect for your hard work and loyalty in helping others asking nothing in return. It is commendable and honorable. As I write this I see that I should commit some time each day to try and answer questions asked within my technical grasp. Unfortunately I have been an off and on programmer for very long and am by no means proficient but I am able to google resources to get an answer. I have a suggestion which I think I have offered before but it seems like the forum needs reorganization now more than ever.

Consolidate. Many of these forums haven't had a post in months or longer. Five forums haven't had a post since 2015.

.NET Development posts could be sorted into their respective programming languages. These days any " Visual ..." language is .NET.
    Regex could be consolidated the same but it is a very useful and specific category so maybe not. The best consolidation could be done further below.
    Mobile Programming doesn't have enough activity to warrant the individual forums. Users could simply put [iPhone] / [Android] / etc... into the subject. This would also make it easier for people with knowledge of multiple platforms be able to help answer questions without hunting them down.
    Web Hosting could all be lumped into one forum.
    Computer Hardware could be all consolidated as well.