1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question downloads manager system

I am in the market for a downloads manager/system/controller for my website and I can't find anything anywhere that suits my needs. I am really hoping that someone here can point me in the right direction.

I want something similar to fileplanet.com or fileshack.com.

- I have a number of site members already registered
    - I want to offer them downloads on a somewhat restricted level.
    - - - a limited number of general members can download at one time. all others are placed in a queue
    - - - general members can only download one file at a time
    - - - general members have a cap on download speed
    - - - preferred members have no limit

That's really all I need, but I can't seem to find a solution. I am a php and html programmer and those two languages just aren't cutting it here. I am thinking I need something like javascript or perhaps an applet.

I am limited to running on a unix (Redhat) server so IIS is out.

help.... please
  3. Moderator Emeritus
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

I am a php and html programmer and those two languages just aren't cutting it here.
    If you're a PHP developer, all of this could be coded in PHP; I'm not quite sure why you think you wouldn't be able to do this in PHP.

None of the features you described need to be client-side (i.e. Javascript or Java Applet); all of this could be server-side.

Have you checked Sourceforge for an app like this?
    DrGroove, Devshed Moderator | New to Devshed? Read the User Guide | Connect with me on LinkedIn
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

yup... checked sourceforge, hotscripts, scriptsearch, phpclasses, etc.

If it's possible to do this in php, then I have been mislead. Based on all of my test programming and responses in various forum posts, I can't do what I am looking to do.

based on tests, php can't
    - limit the speed of a file download