1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need help doing Ecommerce

I am a student that does web design for extra cash. I want to add ecommerce to what I do. How do u go about this? I need full advice. Are there things online to make my job easier, ssl, database, no database...Just help. I need a full walkthrough from client discussion to launch
  3. Code Monkey V. 0.9
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Saying "I want ecommerce" is pretty much like saying "I want a website". There is never one single be-all-and-end-all solution. Ever.

As some very basic steps, you will need to:
    1. Find out what the client wants
    2. Find some software that has those features
    3. Install that software
    4. Do whatever modifications are required

That's really all there is to it. I'm sure it could be a lot more involved, but there's no way to give a lot more information without knowing what you actually need.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by Catacaustic
    Saying "I want ecommerce" is pretty much like saying "I want a website". There is never one single be-all-and-end-all solution. Ever.

3. Install that software

That's really all there is to it. I'm sure it could be a lot more involved, but there's no way to give a lot more information without knowing what you actually need.