1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

SEO Friendly Migration to New CMS

Hi,

I'm in a jam. I have a static html site in the main directory, another in a subdirectory and a static blog in another subdirectory. I need to keep the same url structure because the site has hundreds of links pointing to it. I'm no techie, and I need to migrate to something fulfilling the following needs:

1. Static website generation and multisite (on same domain) blogging. Static blogging is ideal, but not necessary. This means a static site on the root level domain, another in a subdirectory and a blog (static or dynamic) in another subdirectory.

2. The ability to import and migrate an entire blog from a static blogging platform (Thingamablog) via its RSS feed WHILE KEEPING THE SAME URL'S FOR EVERY PAGE. All pages have the html extension. If 301 redirects are necessary, so be it, although if this hurts seo I'd prefer a different option.
    3. A combined WYSIWYG editor with the ability to edit and embed html as an option.

4. A support network that's in touch with real people's issues rather than an insider nerd club that thrives on lingo.

Remember. I'm just running my own website and have always used sitebuilders and such.

Thanks in advance!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

To cut straight to the chase, what you're asking sounds like it's beyond your current skill level. If you need this done anytime soon, you would be best off hiring a web developer to do it.