1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Viability of Activity Booking Website/Business

Hey everyone!

I am a web developer looking to construct a website (from here on referred to as "BookSmart") for my city/region to act as a activity/tourism booking gateway working with local businesses to list available bookings and have them processed via BookSmart, the idea being to receive a small commission from each booking received. At this point I'm trying to get an idea of the true scale of this project, as well as what you project the cost of development to be.

I've attached an image here to outline the flow of the website. Something similar, albeit on a vastly larger scope, can be found at 301 Moved Permanently

Now my main question at this point in time are:

1. How will bookings be registered to the respective businesses?

This is the biggest issue I'm facing, since a number of these local activities only accept bookings by phone, will a full-time employee (myself for the time being) be required to book tickets on a company credit by phone after each online booking? If a company has an existing online ticket purchasing portal, would they accept external redirects?

2. How will availability of tickets be handled?
    Say only 100 tickets of a certain activity are available per time slot, what precautions can be put in place to prevent overselling?

3. What is the best way of connecting booking payment to local businesses?
    I feel as though a central account processing the booking fees, with monthly invoices paid out to the various businesses (minus the commission percentage) would be most effective.

Any and all help or advice would be greatly appreciated! Writing this post out in itself has been extremely helpful in analyzing the hurdles I'll have to overcome, if you can think of others I'd certainly be grateful as well.
  3. Code Monkey V. 0.9
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Originally Posted by TVM1