1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

E-Commerce Solutions

Hi all,

I have been using Actinic as my e-commerce solution for the past 2 years but I have now got to the point where I am seeking out a new e-commerce solution. I have recently had an indepth look at OScommerce and have been very impressed. Can anyone suggest a solution? What would be the best to go for? I have also been looking at the 'big' e-commerce sites and have been wondering what they are using. Does anyone know?

Kind regards

Granthams
  3. Moderator Emeritus
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Companies that base their revenue on e-commerce (amazon, ebay, yahoo, etc) develop their own custom apps in house.

OSCommerce is a good plug-n-play solution, I've used it myself on several occassions. You'll run into problems w/ the presentation layer not having clean separation from the model/controller layers, but otherwise the app works great.
    DrGroove, Devshed Moderator | New to Devshed? Read the User Guide | Connect with me on LinkedIn
  5. No Profile Picture

Thanks Drgroove,

Do you know of any other good off-the-shelf products or open source that would be worth considering?

We may even go down the bespoke route, do you know of any good companies that make tailor made stores?

Kind regards

Granthams
  7. Capt'n
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

We have almost stopped development on OScommerce et. al. solutions and started advising clients to go with Yahoo! stores depending on volume. Mainly because of the lower credit card processing rates. True, it costs $40 per month with a 1.5% transaction fee for upto 5000 items listed, but our clients thus far have loved their system.