Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What's the "best" webdesign software & why?

Hi

I'm thinking of buying a new web authoring software package.

Just wondering what up-to-date software people would recommend?

Cheers
    Sol

PS: Using Dreamweaver MX 2004 at present.
  3. Lord of the Dance
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Dreamweaver is a good program to use, as long you don't use the WYSIWYG part of it.

any special features you need to be able to do?
  5. No Profile Picture
    Texan at Heart

Expression Web is fantastic as well. I have been using it for probably over 6 months. I am amazed at the most simple websites that I can create in XHTML compliant code without me having to change anything
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Depends on how much you're willing to spend and what you want to do with it. I've always found Microsoft Frontpage fine for my webpage needs because all I do is import the sliced PSD into it and then modify the tables and stuff and it's all ready for me.

If you want to build a website from scratch and stuff, core coding and then implementation of graphics, then that's a completely different thing if you're not into Photoshop and other such graphic editing software. You have a variety of options ranging from AceHTML to Macromedia Dreamweaver.

I used to use Namo WebEditor when I needed something like that, because I was never into hard coding of webpages when I used to use this software. I would however recommend Dreamweaver if you code a lot because it has the syntax coloring for a number of languages and that helps out a lot. CSS and stuff is a breeze with it. I guess it's quite all right in the new version of Namo as well.

Survey the market, see what you need and then ask us about a particular software is what I would suggest. Or just tell us what all you require the software to do for you.
  9. I [heart] Toxic Waste

Photoshop + jEdit + Filezilla