1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Performance / Load Testing

Hi everyone,

The company I'm working for has asked that I write a performance and load testing plan in the next couple of days for a java web application, I'm a programmer right out of college just a few months ago and I've never had to do this and have no idea where to start -- furthermore I don't tinker with the Java code as I only handle front-end implementation of the interface.

I'm not sure whether I would be handling implementing a solution or if I just have to "come up with a plan". It's rather vague I suppose, but I was wondering if anyone has anyone ideas / direction that they could give?

Thanks in advance for any help, it's much appreciated (and needed :/).
  3. Moderator Emeritus
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

- How many concurrent users is the application expected to have?
    - Is this a web, desktop or networked application?
    - What performance testing tool(s) will be used?
    - What functional test cases are going to be automated to validate performance? Are these test cases formalized?
    - Has unit, functional, regression, security, exploratory, black/white box, negative/positive, or any other testing been done to the application? Are there plans to further test the application?
    - What type of user acceptance testing is planned? For how many users?
    DrGroove, Devshed Moderator | New to Devshed? Read the User Guide | Connect with me on LinkedIn
  5. No Profile Picture

Thanks for the response drgroove!

- How many concurrent users is the application expected to have?
    - Is this a web, desktop or networked application?
    - What performance testing tool(s) will be used?
    - What functional test cases are going to be automated to validate performance? Are these test cases formalized?