1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

DNS not routing to correct machines in LAN

Hi, I've been working at this for quite a while, and I can't seem to get past where I am. I'm hoping someone can please shed some light on what I may be doing wrong. I am a software developer/programmer, but I'm fairly new to networking & DNS, so let me apologize in advance if any of my terms or descriptions are confusing or incorrect.

I set up a network at my home, and I've created a diagram to help me illustrate what's going on. It looks like I can't post images here, so I've spelled out a url where you can find the image:
    http://jmgdesignlabcloud<dot>com/NetworkDiagram.png

A little more information about the setup before I begin:
    I have the domain registered at GoDaddy. The primary domain & all subdomains point to X.X.X.X (my public ip).

So, referring to the diagram...
    The DESIRED Behavior (what I want to happen):
    when I visit server.mydomain.com, I would like see the webpage @ 10.0.1.201.
    when I visit server2.mydomain.com, I would like see the page @ 10.0.1.202.
    when I visit server3.mydomain.com, I would like to see the page @ 10.0.1.203

The ACTUALLY Behavior (what's really happening):
    No matter which domain I visit, I always see the page @ 10.0.1.201. However, if I type the respective LAN ip's into the browser, I get the correct pages. So, it seems that DNS isn't routing correctly. It always seems to end up at the first server, and doesn't resolve to the desired machine.

Essentially, what I'm trying to do is have all of the domains funnel into my local network, where the first server (the one with DNS running) would resolve that domain to the correct machine. They just aren't resolving... everything seems to end up at the first server.

I'm open to any suggestions or just plain ol' knowledge that anyone can share. I'm really stuck here

Thanks! - John
  3. Did you steal it?
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)