1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Free DNS service

I've seen plenty of services that offer free DNS service for domains. Does anyone know if there are any DNS servers freely available for web browsing purposes? E.g. I am a web developer and something that happens frequently is that I will be developing a new website at a temporary URL while an existing site is served from my client's domain name. When the new site is ready the domain name gets switched to the DNS servers for my hosting company, but by that time my ISP has cached the old DNS data, so I still can't bring up the new site with the domain name even though the DNS update has largely spread through the Internet. So what I would like to be able to do is temporarily set up my Internet connection to use DNS servers other than my ISPs. Possible?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I found a public proxy server and configured my Internet connection to use that, which had the desired effect. Then I can just turn it off after a day or two when my ISP refreshes their DNS data.
  5. funky munky
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

On Unix you could change your nameserver line in /etc/resolv.conf so it uses a local cache:

before:
    [4:04:22] root@users /# cat /etc/resolv.conf
    domain example.com
    nameserver 1.2.3.4

after:
    [4:04:22] root@users /# cat /etc/resolv.conf
    #domain example.com
    nameserver 127.0.0.1

although obviously this depends on your having set up a local dns cache like dnscache or BIND/named (default setting on freebsd is to run as local caching nameserver anyway).

It is highly preferable to use dnscache, since dnscache can be setup to listen for DNS queries on specific IP addresses (ie only on 127.0.0.1 only), whereas named unfortunately listens on all available interfaces (public as well as just loopback/127.0.0.1).