1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Host a subdomain on a different web server

I'm not an expert on DNS -- I've never even set it up, but I think I get the general idea. I'd appreciate someone who is more knowledgeable confirming something for me.

I have a website, call it example.com, hosted on web server "A". So, the site can be accessed by HTTP as example.com or www.example.com. Let's just say the nameservers are ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com.

I want to host a subdomain of example.com, call it subdomain.example.com, on a different web server, call it server "B".

To accomplish that, I believe there are two main possibilities:

- Leave ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com as the authoritative nameservers

- Add an A record like this:
    subdomain.example.com IN A #.#.#.# (IP address for server B)

- Configure a virtual host for subdomain.example.com on server B

Or

- Add the appropriate records to the example.com zone to delegate authority for a new zone for subdomain.example.com

- Configure the appropriate records in the subdomain.example.com zone

- Configure a virtual host for subdomain.example.com on server B

So that with the first approach, ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com will answer DNS queries for subdomain.example.com and with the second approach, other namservers (as configured) will answer the queries.

Is that essentially correct?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Both methods will work, but you shouldn't move delegation of a host record to another set of nameservers. That's typically done when you have a division which is going to control their own hosts. To your zone file just add

newhost.example.com. IN A 12.13.14.15

Make sure you add the trailing period to the tld, or the $ORIGIN will be appended to the end

sample for BIND ver 9.x:

Code:
    $TTL    8640
    $ORIGIN example.com.