DNS
 
Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me

The Shed is going Social! Join us on FaceBook and Twitter and chime in on the conversation.

Go Back   Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationDNS

Reply
Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
 
Unread Dev Shed Forums Sponsor:
  #1  
Old August 6th, 2012, 10:54 AM
nightFix nightFix is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: US
Posts: 94 nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 23 h 41 m 15 sec
Reputation Power: 53
Other domains being directed to my server

Around the same time as the ipv6 rollover my server's ip was added to blacklists so I can't send email to certain domains such as hotmail. Coincidentally, around the same time my server started getting hit by traffic from different domain names that don't belong to me. The domains are all owned by the same individual according to whois. I called the hosting company and they said they can't do anything about this. I emailed the admin from the whois info but no reply. Each week there are just more and more sites being directed to my server that I do not own. Sure, I can block them with htaccess but it's filling my logs up and I have to add more to the list weekly. Does anyone have an idea as to why this might be happening and if this might have to do with my recent blacklistings? I ran dns tools and found no open relays, all email logs look clean, and I am using spf records. Any advice would be appreciated.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 29th, 2012, 08:57 AM
nightFix nightFix is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: US
Posts: 94 nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 23 h 41 m 15 sec
Reputation Power: 53
Just curious, can anyone make any sense of a motive behind this? Someone uses a domain name for mail only and adds a name server A record which points to a different server hosting a different domain. They have an mx record set up for a different mail server. From how I understand spf this will not allow spoofing as my server because it uses the mail server's originating ip not the domain's resolved ip. So if someone doesn't want recipients to find them they could just use a random A record but that shouldn't allow spoofing. I'm just wondering if there is a way they could have spoofed me to get me blacklisted. My spf record is:
Code:
v=spf1 ip4:permitted.ip.address.here ip4:permitted.ip.address.here a mx ~all


Maybe I should use -all instead of ~all?
I've been trying different variations and tests so I still have the tilde in place.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 29th, 2012, 09:33 AM
couttsj couttsj is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 165 couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 2 Days 16 h 29 m 48 sec
Reputation Power: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightFix
Just curious, can anyone make any sense of a motive behind this? Someone uses a domain name for mail only and adds a name server A record which points to a different server hosting a different domain. They have an mx record set up for a different mail server. From how I understand spf this will not allow spoofing as my server because it uses the mail server's originating ip not the domain's resolved ip. So if someone doesn't want recipients to find them they could just use a random A record but that shouldn't allow spoofing. I'm just wondering if there is a way they could have spoofed me to get me blacklisted. My spf record is:
Code:
v=spf1 ip4:permitted.ip.address.here ip4:permitted.ip.address.here a mx ~all


Maybe I should use -all instead of ~all?
I've been trying different variations and tests so I still have the tilde in place.

Until DMARC was introduced, SPF records were largely ignored. This was because there was no feedback mechanism to let you know where the problems were. Our domain has not operated a mail server for over 15 years, and before that it was all directed through Postini. We were seeing a large number of attempts to connect to our domain on port 25. We had no MX record, but examining our DNS logs we saw many requests for MX records followed by requests for A records. So we added an MX record and a Pseudo SMTP server that simply rejected all mail attempts. What we found was about 9,000 - 15,000 connection attempts per day to deliver mail. Not bad for a domain that has had no valid email addresses for over 15 years. Some of those were to actual old email addresses, some were obviously made up, and some were bounce attempts. It became very obvious that our domain name was being abused by spammers.

So we started rejecting email after MAIL FROM: instead of after RCPT TO:. That cut the attempts to less than half. Next we implemented DMARC. We always had an SPF record with -all, but it had no affect until we implemented DMARC. Now we are seeing less than 300 connection attempts per day and declining. I would recommend that you consider using DMARC. Set up properly, you will receive daily reports from the big email providers.

J.A. Coutts

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 31st, 2012, 09:50 AM
nightFix nightFix is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: US
Posts: 94 nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)nightFix User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 23 h 41 m 15 sec
Reputation Power: 53
We are using dkim and spf. I will conduct further research into dmarc and spend some more time practicing it with testing. I did have dns logging enabled and saw several MX requests followed by A requests but seeing that smtp relies on dns I figured the surrounding A records don't indicate much. I'll have to invest a little more research and practice. Thanks a lot for the reply.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 31st, 2012, 05:16 PM
couttsj couttsj is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 165 couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level)couttsj User rank is Sergeant Major (2000 - 5000 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 2 Days 16 h 29 m 48 sec
Reputation Power: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightFix
We are using dkim and spf. I will conduct further research into dmarc and spend some more time practicing it with testing. I did have dns logging enabled and saw several MX requests followed by A requests but seeing that smtp relies on dns I figured the surrounding A records don't indicate much. I'll have to invest a little more research and practice. Thanks a lot for the reply.

One other thing that I might add is that you should add the SPF record as both a type 99 and TXT record. The latest survey information I could find was DNS SURVEY: OCTOBER 2010 by Geoffrey Sisson. He found that 178,785 (15.9%) of zones published SPF records, and of those 178,732 were TXT records and 4,557 were type 99. I suspect that by the time the Type 99 record was approved, faith in SPF as an anti spam tool had already slipped.

J.A. Coutts

Reply With Quote
Reply

Viewing: Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationDNS > Other domains being directed to my server

Developer Shed Advertisers and Affiliates



Thread Tools  Search this Thread 
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes  Rate This Thread 
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
View Your Warnings | New Posts | Latest News | Latest Threads | Shoutbox
Forum Jump

Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
  
 


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

© 2003-2013 by Developer Shed. All rights reserved. DS Cluster - Follow our Sitemap