1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Primary and Secondary with one ip

Hi,

I currently only have one public ip. From what I have read the secondary nameserver is only used if the primary fails. Since I am only learning to set up dns can I just use my one ip for my primary and secondary dns ip's OR should I just register ns1.mydomain.com using my one static ip will this work??

Is this correct. I already own a domain with network solutions. I log in there and register my domain as a host
    ns1.mydomain.com xxx.54.67.122
    ns2.mydomain.com xxx.54.67.122

Then change my domain name nameservers to my new nameservers? ns1 and ns2

I read somewhere you need at least 2 ip's to register your domain as a host is this true? I don't want to pay for a second ip yet while i'm still learning and I only have one pc with one nic card

Thanks, Jenn
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

for learning purposes, you could setup two nameservers on one host, but it will be quite some work.
    you should really use a local-only setup. get a second machine and test it in a local network (192.168.*)
    I read somewhere you need at least 2 ip's to register your domain as a host is this true?
    What did you read? IMHO this is total bull****. Any machine on the net is a "host" (no need to register with anyone but maybe your dial-up ISP) and to register a domain, one IP is more than enough. (you can even do it without a single IP!)
  5. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    >> I read somewhere you need at least 2 ip's to register your domain as a host is this true?
    I think one of the major domain registrars (Network Solutions??) used to impose this restriction a few years ago. Other registrars didn't care and I think they stopped caring too.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

You can register::
    ns1.yourdomain.com