1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Setting Up A Domain Name

I've set up a webserver and because I'm a complete newbie to this area (I've always used other people's webservers) I could do with some help setting up my domain name. I know the IP address of my server and the nameserver etc... But what I want to know is where do I go to register a domain, cheaply (ie without too much added on the database fee), so that I choose the IP address that it points to?
  3. No Profile Picture
    myOstrich Internet

You can register your domain with virtually any registration service or domain reseller, just be sure that you are listed as the domain admin, can modify all your domain information without having to pay additional fees, and can transfer your domain or change ownership without any hidden charges.

Some of the "dirt cheap" domain registration services have hidden fees as high as $50 to change your domain information.

I decided to get into the domain name business when I was fooled by one of these cheap services and had to pay $50 to transfer my domain ownership to another person - so do be careful there are no hidden fees with whomever you choose.

Once you have a domain, you need DNS servers. I'm currently recommending EveryDNS.net for simple DNS services (until I get my own services running). They are free for a limited number of domains, give you an easy to use web interface to define your data, and have 3 (soon to be 4) servers running in different parts of the world as their servers.

You would use ns1.everydns.net and ns2 (or 3).everydns.net as your nameservers when you register your domain. You would then go to www.everydns.net and define your IP address as pointing to your web server. Define your MX records for mail, etc.

It will take a few days for the DNS information to make it's way around the Internet.