1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Trying to understand mechanics of basic DNS/HTTP proxy

Hi,

I have just been asked to write a DNS proxy and an HTTP proxy in C++. To be honest, I really don't have the experience, but I did let the client know that I would have to do a lot of research to figure this out and that I have never written a DNS or HTTP proxy before. I know that after reading my questions many of you will laugh that I am too ignorant about DNS and HTTP proxies to possible succeed at this project. None the less, my questions are very straight forward and I would certainly appreciate some direction.

So now I find myself sitting in front of the computer and wondering exactly what it is that I need to accomplish. The following lists the core requirements as I understand it:

Note: Client = someone requesting a website from a computer that is behind a router that has been configured to use the DNS proxy to resolve addresses.

1. Client requests www.google.com
    2. Dns Proxy checks to see if client is allowed to request www.google.com. If client is allowed to request www.google.com, then DNS proxy somehow directs client to HTTP proxy, otherwise DNS Proxy directs client to a site that explains that they are not permitted to visit www.google.com. By the way, google is just an example here because I am not that creative
    3. Suppose that the client is permitted to visit www.google.com. Then the DNS proxy direct client to http proxy. The http proxy allows the client access to the content at www.google.com and records the number of bytes returned to the client from www.google.com.
    4. Client makes another request and the process begins again.

That is it in a nutshell. Here are my questions that I hope will provide me with enough understanding to begin a solution. The main problem is that I do not understand the mechanics involved: