1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Why this record points to my server?

Hi,

I am new to DNS, so forgive me if I ask a question with an obvious reply.

I have a .biz domain. I did a DNS scan in my VPS server. There were several errors that were quickly corrected by my hosting provider. However the scan shows also this result:

"DNS Parent sent Glue The parent nameserver a.gtld.biz is not sending out GLUE for every nameservers listed, meaning he is sending out your nameservers host names without sending the A records of those nameservers. It's ok but you have to know that this will require an extra A lookup that can delay a little the connections to your site. This happens a lot if you have nameservers on different TLD (domain.com for example with nameserver ns.domain.org.)"
    After inquiring my hosting provider, they told me they cannot solve this:

Please note that this domain is not pointed within our network: [root@server ~]$ dig A a.gtld.biz ;; ANSWER SECTION: a.gtld.biz. 518400 IN A 156.154.124.65 This is rather a subdomain or a hostname that must be resolved locally on the server that this is hosted at.
    and

You will need to contact whoever owns this DNS to delete this record. This record in particular isn't related to our servers in any way and is not contained on them. You can delete it without harm, but we don't actually host it or anything. The IP that the record is hosted on is 156.154.124.65. The owners are: NeuStar, Inc. NPAC (NET-156-154-0-0-1) 156.154.0.0 - 156.154.255.255 Various Registries (Maintained by ARIN) NET156 (NET-156-0-0-0-0) 156.0.0.0 - 156.255.255.255 Please contact them if you want to delete this A record.
    NeuStar

What is NeuStar:
    Neustar, Inc. has developed the Number Portability Administration Center (NPAC) to support the implementation of Local Number Portability (LNP).Neustar Inc.
    46000 Center Oak Plaza
    Sterling, VA 20166
    Phone: 571-434-5434
    Fax: 571-434-5401