1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

DNS and private IPs

Hi,

I am a newbie in this forum, seeking for help......

I am familiar with basic networking procedures, routing, NATing etc, and DDNS services such as No-ip and DynDNS.

Now my question is. I have a workstation running Fedora 14 Linux. This is sitting behind a router which assigns it a private IP in the range 192.168.99.xxx. I have no administrative access to the router. At the moment I access the workstation from the rest of the world using Teamviewer since this does NAT traversal. Hamachi may also be an option, though the current linux version does not seem to be very stable. Is there any way I can get this private IP (which is actually dynamic but has a very very long lease) to map to some publicly available domain such that I can run an ftp server and web server and access them from anywhere simply by pointing to a domain name? DynDNS and No-IP do not work with private IPs, unless you can set up port forwarding from the router, and since I do not have administrative access to the router, that is not possible.

Many thanks !
  3. They're coming to take me away

To run any services behind a router, you need to enable port forwarding. The rest of the world can't see your private IP address, which is why you would need to port forward. Without admin access to the router, there's not much you can do.
    "I don't need to get a life. I'm a gamer. I have lots of lives!"
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by hiker
    To run any services behind a router, you need to enable port forwarding. The rest of the world can't see your private IP address, which is why you would need to port forward. Without admin access to the router, there's not much you can do.