Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

DNS resolution problem.

Hi Guyz.

First of all you should know that I am new to DNS management.

The problem is:
    I installed Acitve Directory with the DNS on the same server. and have only one server as AD Domain Controller.

I also installed linux on another machine, where I hosted virtual Websites, under the same ip and different names.

I created Host A records against each name of the website pointing to the Linux machine IP address.

now the problem is that Some times the browser opens the page with the name without any errror, and suddenly sometimes it stops without any error and do not directs to the linux server to open the pages.

then again after some times it automatically starts resolving to the page.

I am using Widnows Server 2008 R2 and Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5, both on ESXi5 Free license.

Can any one help me solve the issue ?

Any question can be asked to clarify the issue.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Are you seeing DNS problems when it isn't working? Is it an internal site ot external to the internet as well? If it's windows, use nslookup on the command line and see if it is a name resolution problem (use dig for linux/mac). If it's a DNS resolution issue, it's probably something with the config.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by CaptPikel
    Are you seeing DNS problems when it isn't working? Is it an internal site ot external to the internet as well? If it's windows, use nslookup on the command line and see if it is a name resolution problem (use dig for linux/mac). If it's a DNS resolution issue, it's probably something with the config.
    it in only internal site. using windows server 2008

i added only forwarders for the purpose to allow the clients to go to internet through the internal DNS.