Thread: First Time

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

First Time

Hello to everyone!

i am very new to this world.. i have read a few posts before creating an account but i am still very confused!!

before asking questions i would like to explain my situation:
    i have a VPS with Windows 2008 Server R2 and i have a domain bought from a registrar, let's say the name is example.it

now this domain has 2 nameservers setted which are ns1.itsexample.it and ns2.itsexample.it

since in my VPS i have a very nice and power plesk panel and since i would like to be able to make subdomains and emails for my example.it, i have read that i need to configure a DNS server.

so i read a lot and started my quest:
    using the Server Manager i added a new role to my VPS and installed the DNS Server, then using the Administration Tools -> DNS i added a new zone to the forward lookup zones.. i added a primary zone and called this zone example.it
    then i clicked on the domain and added a host (A or AAAA) and called this ns1 and placed the VPS ip here, repeated this step twice so that i also had a ns2 with the same ip.

now, if i ask my registrar to change the ns1.itsexample.it to ns1.itsexample.it to ns1.example.it and ns2.example.it should i be able to use subdomain and emails created in my plesk panel from now on?

or am i missing some operations to this, this seems to easy to be already completed.

thank you
    hope someone helps me out even though i am new here!
    Simone
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

When you register a domain and assign DNS servers to that domain, you are simply telling the root servers where the authoritative DNS information is being stored. Those DNS servers must be registered as DNS servers. You can't just assign any old name as host. I would advise against operating your own DNS server unless you absolutely have to.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by couttsj