1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

DNS/BIND Infrastructure Design

I've recently inherited some external DNS servers. I am by no means a DNS expert, but they run on UNIX and I am the most qualified on my team for that. They host the zone for my company's internet namespaces. We also use them for external resolution by our internal clients.

The servers are not configured to use forwarders. For zones they are primary for, they answer. For zones they are not authoritative for, they go the root servers. In order for my servers to query the root, do they need to be registered with an organization like register.com? Do they need A records, NS records, or both?

Thanks for helping me understand this.
  3. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    Nope, you're good as is. The DNS software comes with a list of known root servers. For resolving non-authoritative domains, you don't need to register anything.

On the other hand, if you guys decide to purchase a new domain and make your DNS servers authoritative for that domain, then you need to tell your registrar that your DNS servers are the authoritative servers.

By the way, BIND does both nameresolver and authoritative DNS services in the same program. Another popular DNS software called tinydns actually has two separate programs, one for each task (because some people only want to run one or the other)
    Up the Irons
    What Would Jimi Do? Smash amps. Burn guitar. Take the groupies home.
    "Death Before Dishonour, my Friends!!" - Bruce D ickinson, Iron Maiden Aug 20, 2005 @ OzzFest
    Down with Sharon Osbourne

"I wouldn't hire a butcher to fix my car. I also wouldn't hire a marketing firm to build my website." - Nilpo
  5. No Profile Picture