1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Connecting a Firebird database to C#

Hello everybody,

I have never worked with Firebird databases before. I downloaded Firebird 2.1, but it doesn't seem to work? If I double click fbserver.exe, nothing happens. Also if I try to open a .gdb-file with fbserver (the file is pulled from a Firebird program) nothing happens. What am I doing wrong?
    I want to connect this file to a Visual C# application.
    I first tried to connect it using ODBC but I wasn't sure if that was possible.
    Now I downloaded Firebird ODBC, but I can't add the OdbcFb.dll to the reference. I receive an error saying that the file is probably not accessible or not a valid assembly or COM component. Can anybody help me with this problem?
    Thanks in advance!
  3. No Profile Picture

Have you "installed" firebird? If so then Firebird is probably already running as a service, if not then what you have done by double clicking it is to start it as an application - but what did you expect to happen?

A server is a program that when fed with data (often a question) it converts the data or retrieves data and returns it. Apache is an HTTP server. If you ask it an http question it will respond with an http file. Similarly if you ask Firbird an sql question it will respond with a data set, but database servers are multi-purpose and multi-tasking, therefore before you can ask a question you have to establish the context of the question, ie you have to tell the database server what database you want data from.