1. Business Analyst
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

GRANT for all objects?

I would like to be able to grant permissions to all objects to a user without having to do each manually. Is there a good way to do this? If nothing else maybe a procedure that loops through objects? I'm not good with (or have even tried) SP's with FB.

Thanks!
    Discontent is the first necessity of progress. - Edison
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Originally Posted by mateoc15
    I would like to be able to grant permissions to all objects to a user without having to do each manually. Is there a good way to do this? If nothing else maybe a procedure that loops through objects? I'm not good with (or have even tried) SP's with FB.

Thanks!

IBExpert has a gorgeous feature Autogrant privileges, which does exactly what you need.

-> right click on procedures and/or triggers and select Autogrant privileges from the popup menu and voila!
  5. Business Analyst
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

If I'm reading this correctly then you can only batch grant for procedures? Or is Autogrant an actual SP that can be run?
    Discontent is the first necessity of progress. - Edison
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by mateoc15
    If I'm reading this correctly then you can only batch grant for procedures? Or is Autogrant an actual SP that can be run?
    No, this is a feature that gives grant on all necessary tables/views to procedures, and there is a grant editor separately that can do every combination.

This autogrant feature is an internal SP i guess, and fastens up your work....cuz you don't want to check every single procedure what it need and what it doesn't and then go to grant manager and apply the proper policies....you just simply click on Autogrant and it does it all for you.
  9. No Profile Picture