1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Strange problem on FbDataAdapter.Fill after calling a stored procedure (net provider)

Hello everybody,

I'm fairly new to the world of firebird and asp.net. On www.dotnetjunkies.com I found an article on calling (testing) stored procedures from an asp.net application. I thought it nice exercise to try to adapt the code given there, to use firebird and the .net provider.

Obtaining the stored procedures and their parameters from a database went pretty straightforward. But then executing them was a problem. I use a procedure to add parameters to an FbCommand.

If I use:
    Code:
    void AddParameters(FbCommand ACommand)
    {
            ACommand.Parameters.Add("@UPWD", FbDbType.VarChar).Direction = ParameterDirection.Input; 
            ACommand.Parameters["@UPWD"].Value = (dgParameters.Items[0].Controls[5].Controls[1] as TextBox).Text.ToString();
            ACommand.Parameters.Add("@UNAME", FbDbType.VarChar).Direction = ParameterDirection.Input; 
            ACommand.Parameters["@UNAME"].Value = (dgParameters.Items[1].Controls[5].Controls[1] as TextBox).Text.ToString();
    }
    on 1 specific stored proc (sp_web_login) everything works just fine, and the results are what I expect them to be. But when I try to make it as flexible as I want it to be and use:
    Code:
        String CreateParameterName(DataGridItem Adi)
        {
            return "@" + (Adi.Controls[0] as TableCell).Text.ToString();
        }

String GetDGValueString(DataGridItem Adi)
        {
            return (Adi.Controls[5].Controls[1] as TextBox).Text.ToString();
        }

void AddParameters(FbCommand ACommand)
        {
            int index;
            DataGridItem di;
            lbParametersLoaded.Items.Add(dgParameters.Items.Count.ToString());

for (index = 0; index < dgParameters.Items.Count; index++)
            {
                di = dgParameters.Items[index];