1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Future of flash development

Hello,

I have downloaded flash professional CS 5.5 and builder 4.5. I started learning about actionscript and flex programming. I even found a template in flash and builder where you can build apps for android, bb and iOS5. However, what I dont understand is that despite all these good options available with these two adobe product, I learnt that they are not supported by Apple and that sooner or later Adobe will shut down it's programming gift to developers. How true is this or am I reading the wrong information? Can I for instance develop iOS5 apps using builder and flash pro OR is it a gone case now?

Thank you
  3. No Profile Picture

Hi,

this is over for Flex. Please read the official Adobe forums to understand the whole case : http://blogs.adobe.com/flex/2011/11/your-questions-about-flex.html

As for developing mobile apps width IOS 5, head to Objective-C width Xcode and COCOA for instance.

Regards,
  5. No Profile Picture

Thank you for clarification. Four related last question and I'm done with my confusion

1) Does this mean I do not need to learn about flex anymore as no future with it?

2) Is Flex (only an SDK) which was used and utilized by actionscript programming?

3) What about Actionscript? Is it something that I should learn or is it gone too?

4) What about flash builder as an IDE tool?

Thank you
  7. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by TerryMate
    Thank you for clarification. Four related last question and I'm done with my confusion

1) Does this mean I do not need to learn about flex anymore as no future with it?

2) Is Flex (only an SDK) which was used and utilized by actionscript programming?

3) What about Actionscript? Is it something that I should learn or is it gone too?

4) What about flash builder as an IDE tool?

Thank you
    @TerryMate,

Hi Terry,