1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question jsp, mySQL import into flash

Hi all!

I have a problem and a question. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Im setting up a website running unix, apache, mySQL and jsp. I would like a flash frontend to the site but have a need of publishing tables of data from the database. My question is if it is possible to do this inside the flash area of the frontend.

Im not a programmer, I just try to get information enough to take a decision on how to approach it. So in any answer please leave out the code parts ;-)

TIA

Jokerbabe
  3. No Profile Picture
    flash junkie

hello,

there are no "tables" per se in flash. However, through some simple code you could take the jsp output and construct your own tables. There are also many components (the data grid for example) that are built specifically to help flash's lack of support for native tables. It's plenty possible, but will just take a little work around...

also, what kind of data will you be displaying? the datagrid is only for textual data. If you need pictures in there, you'll need to build your own "row" element and just duplicate and allocate as you need. It will take an intermediate amount of Flash knowledge to be able to take the data and turn it into what you want (just to warn you).

cheers,

bret
  5. No Profile Picture

Okej...

Sounds like a waste of time to get into that type of flash programming since the data partly consists of pictures.

The thing is, Id like to show different buildings with a reasonable amount of textual data like architect, building year and stuff, and of course an undefined number of pictures of that building. Maybe the best solution is to leave the flash front end when displaying the buildings. But it would be a lot more boring...

Thanks anyway!
  7. No Profile Picture
    flash junkie