1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unhappy Saving data with the Windows Projector

First of all, a premise: I started to study Macromedia Flash MX a couple of weeks ago, so I'm a novice. I am interested not only in the creation of SWF Web applications but also in the possibility of developing executable files by means of the Windows Projector.

So far I have been programming my software using Microsoft Visual Basic but, having discovered the enormous graphic potential of Flash MX, I would very much like to exploit it for the production of Windows programs. Besides the graphic potential, I am attracted by the fact that, unlike Visual Basic, Flash EXE files don't need any runtime library to work.

I have been studying hard in order to explore the possibility of saving data with Flash and I have come to this quite disappointing conclusion: the only kind of data Flash can save locally is represented by cookies that you can manage using the
    so-called "Shared Objects". Unfortunately, these cookies don't allow you to create databases of any kind and you will agree with me if I say professional programs very often need to store and retrieve data at a complex level.

As you know, dealing with data on the server side is not a problem, since Flash can interact with MySQL through PHP. So, the problem only regards EXEs.

I wonder if there is any way you could "force" Windows Projector files to save data on the hard disk. If I were able to save text files with Flash, I could try to organize them in such a way as to create a database playing with variables.

A friend of mine suggested I should try the MMSave method to save text files locally. To my surprise, I found out this method only works when you are operating in the design mode, i.e. when you have an open session of Flash. To experiment with that, you must do the following:

1. Launch Flash and place a button called btnSave on the stage in the first keyframe.