1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question How can I program an orbit?

I wish to creat a movie clip that will contain a number of "planets" (buttons) which will travel in an orbit. I am fairly new to ActionScript, so I don't know how to go about figuring out how to program this. Here's what I want to do:

ONE: Have the planet/button travel an eliptical (or circular) orbit. In order to make the orbital effect more authentic, I would like to know how I can control the scale of the image depending on where it is on the orbit: say 0 degrees is North, 90 is East, 180 is south and 270 is West--the image scale is 100% at 180/south, 75% at East/90 and West/270, and 50% at North/0.

TWO: When the cursor is over one of these planets (MouseOver) I want the orbital motion to pause (only while there is a MouseOver event happening).

THREE: When one of the planets is clicked, I want all the planets to fly to the left and rest in a straight vertical formation, with the one that was clicked being at the top.

If anyone has any good ideas about how I can acheive this ambitious project, I would greatly appreciate it.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

That really shouldn’t be too hard to do.
    Your “buttons” need to be movieclips so you can attach code to them either that or lplace the “buttons” inside of a movieclip. Place the movieclip on the stage and select it (make sure you give it an instance name) with the movieclip selected go to the actions window (expert mode) and type;

OnClipEvent(enterFrame) {
    this._x += 5;
    this._xscale += 1;
    this._yscale += 1;
    if(this._x >= 400) {
    this.gotoAndPlay (2);
    }
    }