1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Flash not reading dynamic content

Hi,
    I'm new to loading dynamic content, so i made a test file.
    I've given a dynamic textfield the variable name "msg" and converted it into a movieclip symbol. This is all there is on the stage.
    Attached to this movieclip is the following action:

onClipEvent (load) {
    LoadVariables ("message.txt",this);
    }

In the same directory where the published .swf resides i have a textfile called message.txt, and it's contents shows up perfecty in this .swf

BUT:
    Now i want to load data from MySQL via PHP, instead of loading it from the textfile, so in the actionscript I change the .txt extension into .php (the name of the PHP-file is also "message") This php-file resides in the same directory as the textfile, and register_globals is on in my php.ini file. Still my .swf does not show anything! Why???
    When i check the file "message.php" in my webbrowser it perfectly retrieves the data from my (local)database, showing:
    msg=Contents+from+database. So that seems to work. But flash does'nt show anything.

This is the message.php file i'm using:
    <title>Uit No Hands/DevShed</title><?
    // message.php

// open connection to database
    $connection = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "rolf") or die
    ("Unable to connect!");
    mysql_select_db("rolf") or die ("Unable to select database!");

// formulate and execute query
    $query = "SELECT testveld FROM test";
    $result = mysql_query($query) or die("Error in query: " .
    mysql_error());

// get row
    $row = mysql_fetch_object($result);

// print output as form-encoded data
    echo "msg=" . urlencode($row->testveld);

// close connection
    mysql_close($connection);
    ?>

Hope someone can help!

Rolf
  3. Junior Member