Thread: Flash Newbie

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Flash Newbie

Ok, here is my question. I am a newbie to flash and have only been playing with it for about oh maybe 3 hours. I need to learn this relatively quickly though as I have a project due in a class of mine and would like to make it snazzy with Flash. So here goes. I am currently trying to get information from MySQL and use it in Flash. To my understanding I need to use PHP or some other scripting language to do so which is not a problem. I have made a test file that simply echo's a string in the form var="value"&var2="value2" and I am trying to load this into Flash using the following commands
    Code:
    temp = new LoadVars();
    temp.onLoad = function() { 
        for (i=0; i < this.n; i++) {
            content.htmlText += "<b><ahref='mailto:" + this["lastName"+i] + "'>" + this["lastName"+i];
        }
    }
    temp.load("test.php");
    the only problem is I get no output at all when I do this. The fla file I am currently using is located at http://www.eden.rutgers.edu/~rusty0/SE/crap3.fla if you need to look at it and the test.php file is located there as well. I am sure what I am doing is because I am a complete retard as far as it is concerned with Flash right now but I woudl greatly appreciate any help
  3. No Profile Picture

ok, I got that part fixed. I followed a tutorial I found online (after doing it wrong a couple of times and got it working). My next question is an interesting one. I am trying to use the following command
    Code:
    content.htmlText += "<b><a href='asfunction:showmess," + this["message"+x] + "'>" + this["course"+x] + "</a>" + this["title"+x] + "</b><br>";
    and for some reason it works for the 2nd and 3rd values but not the 1st and 4th. Here is the output of the php file I am taking the information from
    Code: