1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Make a flash video a link in CS5.5

Hello all,

This has probably been asked before but I didn't find anything in my searches for the text in my title. I am a newb in the flash world, I normally do PHP and JSP, but I have one website that I am working on that has a flash video logo. The only thing they want me to change about the video is to make it a link to the index page of the site. I can not figure out for the life of me how to do this. Could someone please lay the steps out in a simple fashion for me. I have found a few tutorials online but none of them were for CS5.5 and none of them have all the steps for the version they are for. They were all missing something and I can't figure out what that something is as I have no training in Flash. Please help me.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

mojo
  3. No Profile Picture
    Gotta get to the next screen..
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Hi, the navigateToURL function is what you are after.

How you implement it kinda depends on how your stage is setup. The easiest catch-all way is:
    • Draw a large rectangle over the top of all your logo content. Right click that and choose "Convert to Symbol". Give it a name and set the dropdown to MovieClip.
    • Select the new rectangular MovieClip on the stage and open the Properties panel.
    • You will see a blank text field with the words "<Instance Name>" written in it. Let's call the clip home_link.
    • Still in the properties panel, expand the "Color Effect" section and set the dropdown to "Alpha", then drag the slider down to 0. This will make the rectangle transparent so you can't see it but it can still be interacted with.
    • Now select the keyframe that the rectangle sits on in the timeline and open the ActionScript panel.
    • Paste in this code and change the link to your homepage:
    • Code:
      import flash.net.navigateToURL;
      import flash.net.URLRequest;