1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Free Vps Required To Check What Tools Both Free & Paid Vps Hosts Provide

Vps Hosts,

I was actually looking for a paid Vps Host.
    I have used free shared hosting before and always used paid shared hosts and so have experience with them. They always provide cPanel.
    Now, I was searching for a VPS Host because shared hosts are forbidding running web proxies.
    But, I came across a VPS Host who is gonna charge an extra $15/month for cPanel. That astonished me real bad! Charge an extra $15/month for cPanel ? Doesn't cPanel come with the VPS hosting ? If so, then why charge an extra ? Mmm. Maybe none of the VPS Hosts are providing cPanel and maybe they provide some other tools which I have no experiences with. In that case, I might not like what tools they are offering and it would be a waste of my money finding things out the hard way.
    And so, I figured it is best that, I try a free VPS Host first. If such are available.

Anyway, I want to see what tools VPS Hosts provide ? I need the tools' names so I can check in youtube what they look like and view instructions how to use them.

How can you help ?

Cheers!
    Last edited by UniqueIdeaMan; April 6th, 2018 at 04:14 AM.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I am reading some vps host replies.
    One talks about charging $15/month for cPanel. Another talks about me have to get/buy license to the software. Not sure if they're talking about cPanel or Linux itself. Made a query. Waiting for reply.
    That brings me to the question:
    How does the free vps differ to the paid vps ? What do we get with each type of hosting (free, paid) that we don't get with the other ?
    Does not any software come installed with the Vps Server ? I get a complete barebone and only get access to the desktop ? I have to install the OS aswell as all the required softwares ? Have to install Linux, Apache, Php Interpreter, cPanel etc. ?