1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Artist with Game Questions...

heyo!

Just joined today so I'm jumpin' right in.

I'm an artist who recently launched his site and blog, have a solo show in oct, have worked in the animation/illustration fields and would like to expand my palette so to speak.

Long story short I'm planning on making some online games for my various characters but would like some feedback on how to go about it.

First off my site programmer also works at a game studio as a programmer so that base is covered.

I was thinking about making a DEMO of the games, like maybe one full level of play...

I want to keep the games fun, fresh and simple so the games would range from Donkey Kong/Buster Bros style to Double Dragon/Captain Commando type style.

My questions are::

1.What's a good resolution to work at? 640x480?
    2.Is there a better way to raise interest besides a playable demo?
    3.What's the best program to make sprites in?
    4.Is this a decent working plan or am I off my rocker?

Any advice or insults welcome!

Thanks in advance!
  3. <?PHP user_title("gimp"); ?>
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

So you want desktop games to show off your artwork? You do realize that no matter how amazing your artwork is, making a game that works, even if it's half-assed and garbage, is going to take a lot longer to make than it took you to draw whatever you drew, right?

Resolution - desktop game? Fullscreen or no? There's lots of variables. Also depends on your artwork.

Better way - of course there is. There's always a better way to do something. Always. The question is how much it will cost and how hard it is to do.