1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Game Design typically require calculus?

I'm thinking of going into either Game Design or Computer Animation. Do either of those require calculus? I realize this forum specializes in the first & don't expect an answer on Computer Animation.

I've just recently found out that there are pretty much two categories of game developers: programmers & designers (I guess there's more if you could management & marketing). And I know game programmers need calculus, but do game designers? Yes, I know they need to know geometry & trig, etc... but i'm talking about academic programs - do they require calc? My school doesn't have a degree in game design, so I don't know for sure.

Fact is: i'm not very good at calc & algebra. I just placed into intermediate algebra & my father (who thinks you need math for everything... only problem is he doesn't even know what calculus or algebra are) is trying to talk me into taking introductory algebra. This means if I go up to calc i'll have to take the follow: intro algebra, intermediate algebra, pre-calc & calc... i'm not going to take all of these if the program I transfer into doesn't require them.

So - please, if you know whether, on average, college programs require calc for game designers and/or computer animators then please let me know.

Oh... and I have to know by today or else I have to keep the algebra class.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Huh, this question is a first. Here's how I'm getting thrown off:

Originally Posted by Poetic
    I've just recently found out that there are pretty much two categories of game developers: programmers & designers (I guess there's more if you could management & marketing).