1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need help choosing a college and degree

I am very interested in computers and mostly programming. However I have found it very difficult to learn by myself. I was looking into colleges and I have come up with Full Sail looking very very interesting. They over a B.S. in Game Development and their labs and everything look absolutely amazing. This is the exact thing I want to do. However, I was wondering, what is the difference between this degree and one in Computer Science? Which has more of a field to get into (as, which degree would be more easily to get into a career with?). Also, I am a gamer of course, and I want to create games for a living. Full Sail has a 83% success rate with their placement for a B.S. in Game Development and this is amazing. I would love starting as a Junior Programmer and eventually moving up. Full Sail also allows you to go back and further education in that degree if new technology comes along, free of charge. This is amazing. Does this sound like a good college choice?

(Im new and really wasn't sure where to post this.)
  3. No Profile Picture

The essential difference between Game Development and Computer Science is your focus. In fact at most schools the degree programs are very similar until you junior, or perhaps senior year.

Full Sail is an excellent choice assuming a few things, mostly you can afford it There is very little financial aid, and living in Florida ain't cheap. If you want to get a 2 year degree I would recommend DigiPen over Full Sail unless you're loaded, and probably even if you are, just because you recieve a much more solid foundation at DigiPen.