1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Javascript with JSON, HTML5, & CSS/CSS3 - RPG game??

Hey guys,

I've been working on (in my opinion) a pretty solid rpg game idea but......I have a few issues...

I'm pretty good with javascript and I know how to properly code and design a pretty basic JSON document layouts but I'm still pretty new to it.

I wanted to do it as a text based RPG with graphics, work out the code as best as possible, get the storyline down well, the races/classes stats etc. pretty much get all the key components of the game down to where I like them and see how things go.

JSON seemed like the perfect thing to implement into game data storage and from what i've seen, game development/storage with JSON isn't heavily documented on the net but I can't really see a reason why given some of it's capabilities and how light weight it is.

Eventually, my ultimate goal would be to bring the game into Unity and do it as a full 3D MORPG and just transcribe the "text based" code into Unity's form of Javascript.

BUT...I want the game to rely on JSON heavily as far as data storage goes for the game and even help with some of the layout with the CSS & replacing tables for JSON objects.

I was wondering is there a way to pretty much use JSON for storing stuff like:

Races, Classes, & Factions: also stuff like for races, each of their base attributes the player starts with and for classes, the stat modifiers each of them give and for factions, the difference in types of gear and even possibly quests available to you.

Character Attributes & Profile: use JSON for holding and displaying the players stats & skills on their profile when it it visited. (wins & losses, strength, wisdom, agility, etc)

Guilds: Same concept as the 'Character Attributes & Profile' idea except for Guilds.