Hi all,

This is my first attempt at a Java game, Slot Racers. It's actually a port from C++ code, with enhancements
by me. The original Slot Racers game was devleoped for the Atari 2600, was a 2-player shooter, in which each player
controlled a vehicle which could shoot bullets at the other player. In it's C++ incarnation, the two players had to share
a keyboard on one computer. When porting this code to Java, I have added (among other things) the ability
to play against other players online. The game and server is currently in beta phase....I would appreciate if some folks
could give it a try and let me know if they run into any problems, or just have any suggestions for improving the
game. PM me for a link to the game page (seems I cant post the URL as a new member to this forum) .

Some notes:

The game currently run as a Java applet within a browser. I have plans to port this code to run as an Android app, soon.

When you first load the Slot Racers web page, the applet takes 2 or 3 minutes to load the first time. After the first time, it loads pretty quick. If I update the applet jar, then I have to go thru the 2-3 minute load again. I have no idea what the reason for the 1st time delay is.....the jar is only approx 100k. Maybe someone here can clue me in on why 1st time applet load takes sooooo long.

Once the applet loads, you will have to type in an alias you want to use as a player name, then click the 'JOIN GAME' button. At the moment, the Player List is only for informational purposes (you cannot choose which player to play against...I will adding this ability later). After clicking the join button, if the server is not full, you will either be put in waiting mode (if there is not currently another player also waiting to play), or if there is already another player also waiting to play, you will automatically be paired with that player, and gameplay will commence.