This is my first post and I would like to share a couple of ideas for management games.
I used to be a programmer that turned into a sysadmin that finally turned into a network admin that turned into a senior systems architect that turned into upper management and business strategy that retired with stock cash, and finally came back from retirement to open my own business.
My business handles network and connectivity infrastructure, mostly for emerging markets, and it eats 80% of my time. So, I don't have time to code anymore.

I love sports management games. But, that is a market that is kinda under-explored. Big game industry players don't like to move on that, and EA keeps most of the good licenses, and sit on top of them to let them, basically, rot.

Open source crowd-based development can be a good alternative for sports management games.
Basically, because the most successful closed source management game reflects directly the power of its own community of users.
Who would play SEGA-SI's Football Manager without the community-created logo, faces, leagues, teams, graphics, stats packs?
That is a pretty boring game when it goes barebone.
But, crowd-voluntary-based community development makes that franchise the success it is.

I was thinking about a community-crowd based initiative, like a forum, a social network, or something like that, or all of that put together, or just use what we have (Devshed is here, Facebook is there anyways, and so on). And unleash this crowd-development force to create a open source "franchise" of management games.

That can even get money to be shared within the community (put real adboards in the game interface, and make money with advertisement, for example). But, the main idea, is to have fun and create management games that are open and fun to play.

Graphics and 3D shouldn't be the main concern. The closed source games from the big industry players take care of that.