Thread: Start Game Dev

1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Start Game Dev

Gday all

I'm very interested in Game development. I have been working in Delphi and some VB for a few years. Just your everyday Database(MSSQL/Interbase etc) and standalone apps. Some Web apps. I really want to move into game development but not to sure where to start. I have been playing with Game maker 7 and reading here and there about OpenGL etc. Any ideas for me? Should i move to C++ preferably Or any other languages i can Go for like c#??

Thanks!!
    J
  3. Lord of the Dance
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

you should first decide what kind of game you want to make.

some of the first questions to answer could be:
    is it a web/browser based game?
    should the game be OS independent?
    is it a single or multiplayer game?
  5. <?PHP user_title("gimp"); ?>
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Here's the standard advice:

Learn a language so well that you don't have to ask for broad advice. Only then can you even possibly be ready.

In other words, if you like C++, learn C++ so well that if you want to make a game and you know approximately what it's going to be like your posts will be asking "Hey, here's some code and for some reason it's giving me a wrong value, what's up?" instead of "Hey, want to tell me how I can go about making a game?"
    Chat Server Project & Tutorial | WiFi-remote-control sailboat (building) | Joke Thread
    “Rational thinkers deplore the excesses of democracy; it abuses the individual and elevates the mob. The death of Socrates was its finest fruit.”
    Use XXX in a comment to flag something that is bogus but works. Use FIXME to flag something that is bogus and broken. Use TODO to leave yourself reminders. Calling a program finished before all these points are checked off is lazy.
    -Partial Credit: Sun