1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Why's it so hard to meet programmers?

Hi everybody. I'm at a weird point in my life now, where I'm tired of not moving forward on my creative pursuits. I want to make videogames. I have absolutely no programming skills, but I have boatloads of ideas and concepts I want to express. I'm a graphic artist with 3d skills, so theoretically, I can (and have) designed entire games, I just can't actually make them.

But, I'm not even so focussed on getting my own ideas out there, I want to work on other ideas too. Problem is, I don't know a single person who wants to make videogames. I'm creative director at an advertising agency, so I know plenty of programmers for web development, but not a single person who is or wants to be a game programmer.

Is anybody out there who just wants to work on some stuff and see what we can do?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

The type of 3D AAA titles that become popular have budgets in the $xx millions and timelines of 3-5 years, even with dozens of programmers working on them. That's many tens of thousands of man-hours.

There are many indie game programmers in areas where they can reasonably compete. Take a look at the Android or iPhone stores; there are dozen of indie games on there, but virtually all of them are relatively simple 2D games. There are indie game developers for PC too; Steam is a good place to find them, but again, you'll be looking mostly at pretty simple 2D games. If you really want to get into indie game development, look for someone to work on a 2D project.

Programming for 3D is hard, even if your game is based on an existing engine. Most programmers are not even remotely familiar with the concepts involved (particularly your web developer type people).