Thread: Text Based RPG

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Text Based RPG

Hey Guys, first post here.

Just wondering what you all thought would be the best way to make a text based RPG, or one with perhaps slight 2d graphics. I'm not looking for a click and drag tool, because I like to hand code stuff. I have some knowledge of a bunch of languages, including C, C++, BASIC, and Python, but I'm not really an expert in any of them. It's not my first project, but I'd really like to know what you think the best one would be for this project. (This will most likely be the language I try to master.)

Thanks
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

This is effectively a best language question, for which there is no answer. There is no best language. If you already have some experience, then either you know what languages you like to program in best, or you might think it's worth exploring another language like Ruby, C#, or Java.
    When you ask a question, be prepared to tell us: what have you tried? If you think you don't need to try anything, we will never be interested in helping you. If you agree with the link, and you refuse to answer that question, you are being a hypocrite.

Need help with broken code? Your question should be like a good bug report: (1) It has the smallest number of steps to reproduce the problem you see (2) It tells us precisely what you expected to see and (3) It tells us what you saw and how it differed from what you expected. We need all three to help you.
    Want better answers? Tell us what you Googled for and what steps you took to answer your own question.
  5. No Profile Picture

Ok, thanks very much for the insight.

Cheers
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)