1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Text-Based game question (C++)

Hello. I'm in the early learning and planning stages of a series of very small text-based D&D like games. I plan to write them in C++ and have them run in the command line window. I made a couple different searches and didn't find what I was looking for so I chose to make a post.

I have learned some techniques in C++ such as loops, several functions, and I'm currently studying dll's. However, I have no clue how they would be useful for my purposes. (I understand what they do, but I'm a little slow when it comes to thinking of ways to utilize them.)

For example, one specific question I have is how to set it up so that game characters can gain and lose objects from their inventory? Not to mention how can they gain experience and character levels, adding and improving skills and abilities? I think there must be some way to do this without making insanely long IF THEN ELSE type statements, which would just be retarded.

By the way, I am keenly aware of the fact that this is a lot of work, and luckily I have the patience and determination of erosion. So a detailed answer would be very nice, but it would also be great if someone could just point me in the right direction or refer me to some good resources that are specific to text-based game programming. I have money and I'm willing to spend it.

Thanks in advance!
    Mikhail
  3. Paris est magique!

Have you ever heard of 'classes' ('objects'), or at least data 'structures'?

If not, you'll have to practice a bit more before throwing yourself into this.
    Otherwise, the answer seems quite clear...
    etienne:~ > %blow
    fg: %blow: no such job

There are 10 kind of people:
    - those who know binary
    - those who don't.
  5. No Profile Picture

Yes, I have