Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Best Languages to use to make a game

I am fairly new to programming. I wanted to know what are some languages that are best suited for building a game. Specifically a side scrolling action game in the style of Nintindo, or Geneses. Games similar to Castlvania, Super Mario Bros., Double Dragon, Sonic The Hedge Hog. All Advice is welcome.
  3. Lord of the Dance
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Search and you will find There is several threads just on this forum debating this topic.

The most important thing is to know what your (system) target will be and how the user interaction should be.
  5. No Profile Picture

I'm in a way quite curios as well. I - personally - would go with C++ and use the SDL Library on the PC, but that's just me.

If I were to develop on the iPhone, what language would suit me best then, when making a side-scrolling action game (i.e. Mario)?
  7. Lord of the Dance

For iPhone, take a look at this site:
    http://developer.apple.com/devcenter/ios/index.action

Comments on this post

• FredGaming agrees : Thanks
  9. No Profile Picture

So no one here even has an opinion here as to what language is best for a 2d side scrolling game?
  11. Lord of the Dance

Because there is no best overall language. Each of them have its own strong and weak points.

Please re-read my first post. Without more specific information, it is hard to tell what language would be best for your task.

Have you looked into the suggestion from FredGaming?
  13. No Profile Picture

I'm not an expert on these things, mind you, but I've spent a fair amount of time looking into gaming-oriented languages.

For the iPhone, I think most applications are programmed in Objective C. There are probably ways to use other languages but I haven't heard much about Apple offering much support to others.