1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Want to be a game designer, What program should I learn

I'll try to be as specific as I can about my goals.

I want to be a game designer and I have no programming experience. I know that I must learn a programming language and I'm trying to figure out which one should I start with. I will be mostly self taught using tools online and buying books when I can. I know that I probably shouldn't start with C/C++ or Java as a beginner.

My goals is to eventually become a RPG designer. I want to make large scale ARPGs and probably turn based ones too. Those are my end goals however. My beginning goals are to make games small scale 2D based RPG style games.

My platforms would include Playstation, PC, Nintendo (possibly) and maybe, as of now no, Xbox.

My question is which language/s would be best to learn to create games on the PS (my main preferred) platform and what's the most basic that will most easily lead to the more advanced language.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

C (tiny, quick to learn), then C++ (so huge that nobody uses all of it, but OOP is extremely useful for programming simulations -- which is how games are most typically modeled).

Those are the only languages that you will be able to hit most/all platforms with, particularly consoles. Each console often has its own vendor-supplied/recommended libraries and development kits, but most of them work in roughly the same way or are idiomatically similar.