1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Php interview questions

For some time, I have had an interest in php interview questions (even developed a site with that in mind) to make sure I get the right person for the job (since I'm no techie). I guess I'm wondering what have other employers done in the past?

Thanks

Garry Ponus
  3. Come play with me!
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Had a developer or two to sit in and ask some questions.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

thanks. I guess I'm wondering how diverse php is. If someone says they are a php developer, is that all that's needed or are there certain aspects one should look for?
  7. Banned ;)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    Depends on what you're looking for. PHP programmers are a dime a dozen, so finding one is easy. On the other hand, finding a *good* PHP programmer is a considerably more difficult task. Lots of people tend to fudge their resumes and a face-to-face interview usually reveals how much they really know.

Most of the PHP guys that I've interviewed can throw together a quick website that they can maintain themselves (main issue that I have is that most don't know how to escape strings correctly and rely on magic quotes). Finding one that can work in a team environment and has some ideas of good software development practices is a little more difficult. Anyone else have similar experiences with finding good PHP programmers?
    Up the Irons
    What Would Jimi Do? Smash amps. Burn guitar. Take the groupies home.
    "Death Before Dishonour, my Friends!!" - Bruce D ickinson, Iron Maiden Aug 20, 2005 @ OzzFest
    Down with Sharon Osbourne

"I wouldn't hire a butcher to fix my car. I also wouldn't hire a marketing firm to build my website." - Nilpo
  9. Come play with me!