Thread: Hello

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Hello

Hello everyone. I'm working on a web site idea right now and will probably have some questions as I go. It's in an extremely rough draft...I wouldn't even call it Alpha version yet. I've got some experience tinkering with HTML/CSS but I'm hoping to make this a professional looking site. Brushing up on things reading Sams Teach Yourself HMTL, CSS and Javascript.

Is this a bit outdated for HTML now or are you guys still including this in your web sites?

Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> 
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN"
    If you are curious my "web site" is at www.assistmewithit.com

As of now I update it every Friday and most of the content has just been hastily thrown together just trying to get a feel.
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

this is XHTML, not HTML. Unless you have a specific reason for using XHTML and understand the implications (it's not meant for standard browsers), this is not what you want.

The doctype for HTML is

Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    If you need reliable info, use the Mozilla Developer Network or the W3C specs directly. This is usually much better than the stuff people teach in books or online tutorials.
    The 6 worst sins of security How to (properly) access a MySQL database with PHP

Why cant I use certain words like "drop" as part of my Security Question answers?
    There are certain words used by hackers to try to gain access to systems and manipulate data; therefore, the following words are restricted: "select," "delete," "update," "insert," "drop" and "null".
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Originally Posted by Jacques1
    Hi,

this is XHTML, not HTML. Unless you have a specific reason for using XHTML and understand the implications (it's not meant for standard browsers), this is not what you want.

The doctype for HTML is

Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>