1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

HTML help: How to record form data in text file

HI all,

I wanna create user form using HTML where the inputs by user can be directly recorded into text file. If I fill out my name in User form then it should be filled automatically in particular text file, Just to clarify; it's offline page.
  3. Did you steal it?
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by requinix
    Okay. What have you done so far?
    Hey 'requinix', thx for playing. I am not a pro. I have created my website which will be used in office. Ppl will access this website on shared network using path I provide. Now, I want to add this user form thing into it and to arrange the data in better way, I want inputs in text file.

I don't have any idea where to start from. Some say, PHP, Python is only solution for this. Can you help me get started.
  7. Did you steal it?

What they said is (basically) true: you need some software running on the server to do this. PHP, Python, Perl, ASP.NET... Anything like that will work.
    Meanwhile you can write the HTML form without needing to know those details.

So
    1. Can you choose a server-side language? PHP and Python are probably the easiest to do as they're simple to install and don't have any steep learning curves.
    2. Write that form. Like I said you don't need to worry about what happens on the server yet - the HTML form is the same for everything.
  9. No Profile Picture

Sure thing. Like you said, I will create user form and get back to you.

However hard I try, I am still worried about server thing
    I won't have access to server as page is offline as well as it's for office use.
  11. Did you steal it?

You're not using a web server yet? So people are accessing the "website" using file:// URLs?
  13. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by requinix
    You're not using a web server yet? So people are accessing the "website" using file:// URLs?