Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Best HTML5 development platform?

My first post here so I apologise if I've put it in the wrong section. I'm currently planning a web app which I want to create with HTML5. I know there's lots of HTML5 development tools/frameworks out there but I was wondering if anyone has views on which would best for me to use considering the following criteria.

1) I have limited HTML/CSS/Javascript experience (I'm a AS3 programmer by trade) so the simpler the tool to use the better, however I will want to be able to get into depth, something which is literally drag and drop will probably not offer enough for what I want.

2) A framework/tool set that has backend/cloud integration would be great, I'm thinking something like Parse.com but for HTML5.

3) Needs to be free or as close as (I already have the creative cloud CS6 though if that's an option).

Thanks for any advice!
  3. /*
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

I am am also a flash developer who is migrating to HTML5. HTML5 authoring tools frameworks etc are still developing but I have had some good results using the Create JS Framework . Especially useful for flash developers migrating to HTML5
    */
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I have used Aloha HTML editor and it was ok .
  7. No Profile Picture

HTML5 Editor

I'm not able to find user friendly HTML5 editor yet. Have tried Aloha, which was not too useful. But its better than nothing.

Originally Posted by casand
    I have used Aloha HTML editor and it was ok .
  9. The Queen of Typos
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

A lot of this is going to come down to personal preference, like Ford vs Chevy.

Dreamweaver CS5+ has some great tools for HTML5 development and I am currently using Dreamweaver CS6.

That said, there's no reason why you can't use a simple text editor like notepad or TextPad.